top of page

Asian Heritage Month

May is Asian Heritage Month in Canada, a time to reflect on and celebrate the contributions that Canadians of Asian descent have made and continue to the prosperity of Canada.

In May 2002, the Government of Canada signed an official declaration to designate May as Asian Heritage Month. The theme for Asian Heritage Month 2021, "Recognition, Resilience, and Resolve", embodies the myriad of sentiments that peoples of Asian descent in Canada have experienced and honours their contributions and their diverse stories which are rooted in resilience and perseverance.

Diversity represents one of Canada’s greatest strengths. Over the last two centuries, immigrants have journeyed to Canada from East Asia, Southern Asia, Western, Central and Southeast Asia, bringing our society a rich cultural heritage representing many languages, ethnicities and religious traditions.

Asian Canadian Cultures in Canada Include
  • East Asia: China, Japan, Korea, Mongolia, Taiwan

  • South East Asia: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, East Timor, Vietnam

  • South Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

  • Western Asia: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Georgia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, State of Palestine, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

  • Central Asia: Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page